The International Conference on Smart Energy Systems and 4th Generation District Heating was expanded to include the research topics of Electrification, Electrofuels and Energy Efficiency.

The 5th conference took place on 10-11 September 2019 at Langelinie Pavillonen in Copenhagen next to the iconic Little Mermaid at the historical centre of Copenhagen – while the conference dinner took place at the famous Tivoli Gardens.

The conference was hosted at Langelinie Pavillonen.


You can view the full program of the conference here.

Book of abstracts

Access the book of abstracts here.



Videos are currently under preparation. 


Henrik Lund: Welcome to SESAAU2019

Jianjun Xia: District Energy Systems in China

Kristian Ruby: Dispatches from the European energy transition

David Connolly: Wind power and district energy in Ireland

Session keynote Jan Eric Thorsen: Smart operation of ULTDH booster substation for multifamily building

Christine Emilie Sandersen: Flexsumers – smart-energy ready heat customers

Hanmin Cai: Flexibility in integrated energy system: experimental insights from EnergyLab Nordhavn project

Kevin Michael Smith: Online MPC of a heat-booster substation for ultra-low temperature district heating

Morten Herget Christensen: Heating demand peak shaving in smart homes

Session keynote Sara Kralmark: Introduction to COOL DH

Steen G. Olesen: How to convince the locals to change to LTDH, Osterby example

Klaus G. Lauridsen: Development of a 4th generation District Heating preinsulated piping system

Dennis Kerkhof: Xplorion – energy efficient building using low temperature district heating

Klara Ottosson: Heat driven appliances

David Edsbäcker: Securing a lower grid temperature through increased digitalization—Using heat load forecasting and feedback from the grid

Conference Committees

Prof. Dagnija Blumberga, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Dr. Robin Wiltshire, Building Research Establishment (BRE), UK
Dr. Anton Ianakiev, Nottingham Trent University
Dr. Ralf-Roman Schmidt, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Dr. Hanne L. Raadal, Østfold Research, Norway
Dr. Richard van Leeuwen, Saxion University, The Netherlands
Prof. Thomas Brown, Frankfurt University, Germany
Prof. Martin Greiner, Aarhus University, Denmark
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ingo Weidlich, HafenCity University, Germany
Prof. Eric Ahlgren, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Prof. Sven Werner, Halmstad University, Sweden
Prof. Leif Gustavsson, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Prof. Poul Erik Morthorst, Technical University of Denmark
Prof. Svend Svendsen, Technical University of Denmark
Prof. Xiliang Zhang, Tsinghua University, China
Prof. Bernd Möller, University of Flensburg, Germany
Prof. Bent Ole G. Mortensen, University of Southern Denmark
Prof. Neven Duic, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Prof. Christian Breyer, Lappeeranta University of Tech, Finland
Prof. Ernst Worrell, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Dr. Paula Ferreira, University of Minho, Portugal
Ass. Prof. Younes Noorollahi, University of Tehran, Iran
Ass. Prof. Carsten Bojesen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Prof. Frede Hvelplund, Aalborg University, Denmark


Anders Bavnhøj Hansen,
Anders Dyrelund, Rambøll
Jan‐Eric Thorsen, Danfoss
Anders N. Andersen, EMD International
Henrik Ottesen, DESMI
Peter Jorsal, LOGSTOR
Per Wulff, Vestforbrænding
Morten Abildgaard, Viborg Fjernvarme
Jesper Møller Larsen, Aalborg Forsyning, Varme
Steen Schelle Jensen, Kamstrup
John Bøgild Hansen, Haldor Topsøe
Svante Bundgaard, Aalborg CSP
Fabian Levihn, Stockholm Exergi


Sponsorships for Best Presenter Awards

Silver Sponsorships

Supported by