Submission for abstracts is now closed. For any inquiry please contact us.

Submission Procedure to Special Issue Journals

At this conference, a full paper submission is not a requirement. You may present your abstract at the conference without upgrading to a full paper.

When submitting your abstract, you could select among three special issue journals: The International Journal of Sustainable Energy Planning and Management; Energy or Energies – or the option not to upgrade your abstract to a full paper.

To submit a paper to one of the SI journals, you need to fulfil these requirements:

  1. You must have registered for the conference as a presenter of an accepted abstract.
  2. You must have received a personal invitation to submit your paper to the SI journal in question.

If you have selected submission to one of the three journals, you will receive an invitation by e-mail prior to the conference and a reminder after the conference.
You may be invited to another journal than the one you have selected based on the evaluation of the journal editors.

The SI journals will be open for submission of papers from 1 September to 28 October.

If you wish to submit your paper to a special issue journal and did not indicate this in the submission form, please confirm this by e-mail as early as possible. We will inform you by e-mail if your paper has been accepted for submission and to which SI journal.

Both scientific and industrial contributions to the conference are most welcome. Submitted abstracts will be reviewed by a scientific and an industrial committee. Authors of approved abstracts will be invited to submit papers to special issues of:

Energies (publishing requires a fee, see more in the submission form)

Conference topics

  • Smart energy system analyses, tools and methodologies
  • Smart energy infrastructure and storage options
  • Integrated energy systems and smart grids
  • Institutional and organisational change for smart energy systems and radical technological change
  • Energy savings, in the electricity sector, in buildings and transport as well as within industry
  • 4th generation district heating concepts, future district heating production and systems
  • Electrification of transport, heating and industry
  • The production, technologies for and use of electrofuels in future energy systems
  • Planning and organisational challenges for smart energy systems and district heating
  • Geographical information systems (GIS) for energy systems, heat planning and district heating
  • Components and systems for district heating, energy efficiency, electrification and electrofuels
  • Renewable energy sources and waste heat sources for district heating

International Scientific Committee

Prof. Dagnija Blumberga, Riga Technical University, Latvia
Dr. Robin Wiltshire, Building Research Establishment (BRE), UK
Dr. Anton Ianakiev, Nottingham Trent University
Dr. Ralf-Roman Schmidt, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
Dr. Hanne L. Raadal, Østfold Research, Norway
Dr. Richard van Leeuwen, Saxion University, The Netherlands
Prof. Thomas Brown, Frankfurt University, Germany
Prof. Martin Greiner, Aarhus University, Denmark
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ingo Weidlich, HafenCity University, Germany
Prof. Eric Ahlgren, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Prof. Sven Werner, Halmstad University, Sweden
Prof. Leif Gustavsson, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Prof. Poul Erik Morthorst, Technical University of Denmark
Prof. Svend Svendsen, Technical University of Denmark
Prof. Xiliang Zhang, Tsinghua University, China
Prof. Bernd Möller, University of Flensburg, Germany
Prof. Bent Ole G. Mortensen, University of Southern Denmark
Prof. Neven Duic, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Prof. Christian Breyer, Lappeeranta University of Tech, Finland
Prof. Ernst Worrell, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Dr. Paula Ferreira, University of Minho, Portugal
Ass. Prof. Younes Noorollahi, University of Tehran, Iran
Ass. Prof. Carsten Bojesen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Prof. Frede Hvelplund, Aalborg University, Denmark

Industrial Committee

Anders Bavnhøj Hansen,
Anders Dyrelund, Rambøll
Jan‐Eric Thorsen, Danfoss
Anders N. Andersen, EMD International
Henrik Ottesen, DESMI
Peter Jorsal, LOGSTOR
Per Wulff, Vestforbrænding
Morten Abildgaard, Viborg Fjernvarme
Jesper Møller Larsen, Aalborg Forsyning, Varme
Steen Schelle Jensen, Kamstrup
John Bøgild Hansen, Haldor Topsøe
Svante Bundgaard, Aalborg CSP
Fabian Levihn, Stockholm Exergi